top of page

AOD Chapter 31: Lunchtime Incident

-Saturday Afternoon, 19th Of the 1st Month, Year 910-


'...I never knew that listening to someone talk could be so tiring-' I sigh and sit my lunch down, '-And that was only half of the general rules, we still have to go over the other half tomorrow.'


"Ahh, I can't do it!" Johnny slams his hands against the table, "How does she expect us to memorize even half of what she said! After the first rule, all I heard was some strange foreign language!"


'Foreign language?' I shake my head, not knowing what he's talking about, "I heard up to the sixth rule, but after that, my mind went blank."


"Th-The last th-thing I re-remember i-is the fi-fith rule," Noah comments with his head down.


'At least you tried,' I pat his shoulder and look at Johnny with pity, 'You...what was actually going on in your head the whole time?'


I really want to ask him how he managed to forget the language he speaks, but I sigh, deciding to keep my thoughts to myself, 'I don't want to upset him more after all.'


"Ugh!" After we tell him what we heard, the light in his eyes starts to dim, and he turns to Jasmine as his last hope, "Jasmine! How much did you hear!?"


Jasmine looks at his face and flinches, turning to me with an uneasy expression.


I shake my head and tell her, "Don't look at me like that, just tell him the truth. He asked for it himself."


"Haah, I heard everything," Jasmine tells him, causing the last bit of light in his eyes to fade.


"Ugh!" Johnny groans and turns back around with his shoulders down.


"I-It's okay, Johnny. I'm a noble, so it's not the first time I've heard those rules!" Seeing his response, Jasmine starts panicking and tries to explain herself, "I-I had a hard time remembering them just like you wh-when I first started learning! E-Even now, I have a hard time following them! S-So cheer up! I'm sure you'll get better!"


Although I have a lot of doubts about her being as bad as him, Johnny falls for her words completely, and his usual smile comes back.


"Haha! That's right! This is only the beginning, I'll get even better and get as good as you one day, Jasmine!" Johnny clenches his fist and laughs.


We all start laughing with him, forgetting all about our earlier class.


"Hi!" A bright and clear voice greets us from behind me, causing my whole body to freeze up.


'Why-' I turn around and my eyes stop on her, '-Why did you have to come over here!'


Ba-bump. Ba-bump.


'It's her-'


Ba-bump. Ba-bump. Ba-bump.


'I can feel it-'


Ba-bump. Ba-bump. Ba-bump. Ba-bump.


'The blood of that man-'


'Kill-'


'-Shut up! Get out of my head!!' I shout at the voices in my head and start circulating my Qi, this time I repeat the chant in my mind, trying to block the voices out, 'The Earth is holy, the Earth is the root of all life, the Earth gives me strength, and in return, I give myself to the Earth…'


I turn away and close my eyes, trying to get her image out of my head, 'The Earth…'


"Hey! I remember you from class earlier, um…" Johnny starts speaking to her.


"My name is Amelia!"


'...Amelia… Ameli...'


'Amelia… Amel…'


'Ameli…Ame…'


'Ame…'


The voices start to repeat her name over and over again inside of my mind, breaking my concentration.


'Arghhhh!! Shut up!! SHUT UP!!! SHUT!!!! UP!!!!' I start circulating my Qi faster, putting a strain on my meridians, trying to use the pain to overcome the thoughts.


After a few seconds, the voices start to fade away, and I can finally calm down, '...My whole body feels sore…'


I sigh and open my eyes, "Ahh!"


Ba-bump! Ba-bump!


Amelia's face is right in front of me, scaring me. I back up and glare at her, angrily, "Too close."


"Sorry!" She leans back and stands up straight, still staring at me.


"What?" I turn around, feeling uncomfortable looking at her eyes.


"Are you alright? You're sweating a lot, and your skin is kind of pale," She steps in a little closer with a worried expression.


Ba-bump! Ba-bump! Ba-bump!


"I'm fine," I grit my teeth and answer her.


"Are you sure? Last time you passed out! Maybe you should go get your body checked out-"


"I said that I'm fine!!" I shout at her, surprising myself.


"But-" before she can say anything else, her friend cuts her off, "Stop it, Lia, he said that he's fine, so let's leave him alone."


"But…" She looks at her friend with a face saying that she doesn't want to.


"C'mon! Let's go eat our lunch before it gets cold!" She wraps her arm around Amelia's and starts pulling her away.


"But-" She cuts her off again, "If you keep resisting, I'll tickle you to death!"


I don't know why, but hearing her words makes her stop resisting, so the two start walking away to another table.


'Thank-'


"HOLD IT!!!" Percy shouts, drawing our attention to him.


He walks in between us and points at me with an angry expression.


'Now what?' I don't feel like dealing with Percy right now.


"How dare you yell at a noble when you're a mere commoner! Get on your knees and apologize! Right now!!" Percy starts shouting orders at me.


"Why should I listen to you?" I'm really confused and angry right now, 'I know that I was in the wrong for yelling at her, but why are you telling me to get on my knees and apologize?'


"Because I am a noble, and you're a commoner! Know your place and apologize!"


'I'm not in the mood for this right now,' I turn around and start eating my lunch.


"Don't ignore me, Commoner!" Percy slams his hand on the table.


His slam makes our trays jump up, sending some of our food in the air.


"Noble this! Noble that! Shut up already!!!" Johnny gets up and slams both his hands on the table, "If you don't shut up, I'll make you shut up!!!"


Johnny grabs Percy by the collar, leaning Percy over the table towards him.


"Get your hands off of me, Commoner!" Percy grits his teeth and tries to take Johnny's hand off of him.


"C'mon, you two stop arguing," Amelia's friend tries to calm them down.


"Tell him to let go of me first!!" Percy demands, still glaring at Johnny.


"Tell him to shut up!!" Johnny pulls him even closer.


"Guys-" I cut her off, "Johnny let him go."


'I don't feel like dealing with this right now.'


Johnny looks at me with his eyes wide open, but I sigh and shake my head. Johnny lets him go, still glaring at him.


"Don't think I'm done with you yet! Get on your knees and apologize!" He stops glaring at Johnny and turns it to me.


"I'm done eating," I stand up and start walking towards the exit.


"HOLD ON!!! I didn't say that you could leave!" Percy rushes in front of me and blocks my way.


"I'm not in the mood for this, leave me alone, Percy," I try to go around him, but he moves to in front of me again, blocking my way.


"APOLOGIZE!!" He demands again.


"Percy, leave me alone before I knock you out again," Hearing my words, his face turns red, but he puts his arms down and lets me pass.


Without saying anything else, I leave the cafeteria, feeling bitter.

 

Author's Note:

Here's the regular chapter! Sorry that it's so late, but you know what they say, "Better late than never." Anyways thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed the chapter!



Recent Posts

See All

AOD Chapter 32: Official First Day

-Monday Morning, 21st Of the 1st Month, Year 910- After eating breakfast, we split up with Jasmine and go to our first class of the day, History. We walk into class and go to the back of the room to s

AOD Chapter 30: Etiquette Class For Commoners!?

-Saturday Morning, 19th Of the 1st Month, Year 910- "Ry…." I hear a voice calling for me from the darkness, "Ryn…Ryner…" 'Hm? That sounds like No-' Before I can collect my thoughts, a loud shout hits

AOD Chapter 29: End Of The First Day

-Friday Afternoon, 18th Of the 1st Month, Year 910- After Noah finishes changing, we rush to Training Field A. We're way behind the other guys because of Noah. But we still manage to make it on time.

bottom of page