top of page

AOD Chapter 27: Beginning Of The First Day

-Friday Morning, 18th Of the 1st Month, Year 910-


Knock Knock


"Ahhn-" I wake up and stretch my arms out towards the ceiling.


Knock Knock


"R-Ryner, it-it's 7: 30, w-we need to st-start g-getting ready s-soon," Noah tells me from the other side of the door, "A-Are you u-up?"


"Yeah," I answer him and get out of bed, "You can come in."


He opens the door slowly and peeks his head in, but the moment he looks at me, he shuts the door, "-W-W-Wh-Where i-is y-yo-you-your s-s-s-s-shirt!"


"Huh? I don't sleep with a shirt on normally," I tilt my head, 'Is it not normal to sleep without a shirt on?'


"W-W-Wh-Why?"


"I have a hard time sleeping with it on, it makes me feel uncomfortable," Shaking my head, I walk to the door and try to open it.


"Y-Yo-You c-ca-can't co-come out!" He tells me while holding the door shut from his side.


"Why?" I let go of the knob and ask him.


"N-Not un-until, you put a shirt on!"


'Seriously?' I sigh and pick up my shirt from yesterday, 'It smells a bit, but I don't want to put a good shirt on for nothing.'


I put the shirt on and tell him to come in. He peeks inside first, and seeing that I had a shirt on, he lets out a breath of relief and turns around, 'Now what?'


He comes back carrying a big box with both hands, "What's this?"


"It-It's your uniform, th-they sent us a few sets by ma-mail early this mor-morning," He explains after sitting the box down, "Al-Also he-here's your mail, I-I think that you-your schedule is in there."


I nod, thinking that he must have already opened his. I open the envelope and take two pieces of paper out. One-piece has a note on it, and the other has my schedule on it. I read the note first,


Dear Ryner,

'You've been selected to join the First-Year Eclipse Class due to your Excellent Entrance Exam results. Work hard so that you don't disappoint your teachers and the seniors who came before you. Keep the glorious record of the Eclipse Class intact!'


"What class are you in, Noah?" Finishing the note, I ask Noah.


"I-I'm in the E-Eclipse Cl-Class," Noah answers with a nervous expression.


"So we're classmates," I smile, happy to have someone I know in my class.


"M-Mm," Noah nods and smiles back at me.


I read over my schedule, looking over all of my classes for the rest of the year:

'So I have history first today, that's Mrs. Russo's class,' I unknowingly smile.


"I-I al-already used the ba-bath-bathroom, s-so you should st-start getting re-ready," I nod and take a towel from my closet.


I leave my room with Noah and go to the bathroom while he gets changed. I looked at it yesterday, but it's pretty much the same as the bathroom in a few of the inns I've stayed at before. It has a shower, toilet, and sink. There's a white wooden cabinet hanging over the sink here, though.


I hang my towel and turn on the shower water. After a few seconds, it finishes heating up, so I hop in after getting undressed.


●●●


After cleaning the tub like Gramp's taught me, I brush my teeth with the red toothbrush that's sitting next to the blue one that Noah told me he used. After I'm done, I put my bottoms back on and throw the towel around my back.


Leaving the bathroom and look at the clock, 'It's 7:55, I should hurry so that we don't miss breakfast.'


I rush to my room to change into one of the uniform sets that's there. I change into the black pants and stop, 'I don't know how to wear this stuff.'


Looking at the open white shirts with buttons and the short black cloak(?) without a hood, feeling confused, 'No choice, but to ask Noah.'


After I call him a couple of times, Noah comes into my room, but just like before he shut the door, so I explain to him that I don't know how to put my uniform on. After a few seconds, I hear him sigh and slowly open the door. I thank him, and he tells me, "Fi-First y-you need to p-put on a t-sh-shirt, after that I-I'll help you p-put the re-rest of it o-on. You-You're n-not supposed to we-wear a but-button up with n-no-nothing under i-it."


I listen to him and put a t-shirt on. After that, he tells me to put the button up on like a jacket. I follow his directions and put the shirt on, "Now what?"


He walks over nervously and puts the buttons inside of the holes on the shirt. Then he puts the cloak(?) around my neck and fixes my collar, "N-Not cloak, it-it's ca-called a ma-mantle."


"What's a mantle?" I tilt my head as he puts a pin on the mantle.


"A ma-mantle is a cl-cloak bu-but it-it's also a sym-symbol of one's ro-role or re-responsibility," He explains while straightening out the mantle, "Se-see Ar-Arcadia's symbol he-here?"


I look down and spot the badge that he attached to the mantle, it's shaped like an eight-sided star which is Arcadia's symbol. The inside of it is dented forming eight slots, there's only one slot filled in by a white shard, 'Where're the other shards?'


As if he read my mind, he answers, "I-I think ev-every ye-year w-we get a ne-new sh-shard, th-that's why th-there's ei-eight slots. I-I think."


"Mm," I nod my head, 'That makes sense, but I'll ask Mrs. Russo later when she's free to make sure.'


"He-here," Noah leaves the room and brings in three more boxes.


Inside is a white box, opening it, I find a ring with a purple gem embedded in the center. Noah said that it's called a Storage Ring. It's a low-grade Mystic Armament, but that's because these are the low-grade versions that can only store as much as a big bag. He said that the higher the grade, the more stuff that it can store. I take out the instructions from inside the box and read over them.


'...So to use it, all I have to say is 'Store' and think about the item that I want to store inside of it, but it has to be within a foot of me, and it can only store objects,' That seems easy, '...and to take items out, I just need to think of the item I want to take out and say 'Withdraw.''


I try it out and store one of my combat uniforms that's in the box with my school uniforms, 'I have Combat and Physical Training today, so I'll probably need this.'


After that, I take the black shoes out from the other box that he brought in and put them on. Then I put the black boots that came in the other box in the storage ring, 'That should be everything, right? Ah, I should take my schedule too.'


I put my schedule in the ring with everything else, 'The directions said that everything is organized inside of the ring, so it shouldn't get messed up, right?'


After doing all that, I'm ready to go, so after making sure Noah is ready, we leave the dorms. For some reason, Johnny and Jasmine are waiting for us in the front.


"What are you two doing here?" I ask them, confused why they haven't left yet.


"We were waiting for you! I didn't think you would take so long, though!" Johnny smacks my back with a frown on his face.


"Sorry, I didn't know you guys were waiting," I scratch my head, feeling bad for making them wait.


"It's okay. How are you feeling? You just suddenly passed out yesterday, I was really worried about you," Jasmine stares at me with a concerned expression.


I tell her that I'm fine and that we should go or we won't make it on time for breakfast. I changed the topic pretty quickly, so Jasmine doesn't seem satisfied, but I'm already walking to the cafeteria.


"Ah- wait for us!" Jasmine calls out.


'Sorry, I just don't want to talk about it,' I sigh and look up at the sky, 'I hope that I don't see her again today.'

 

Author's Note:

Here's number 5! Man, I seriously need to start writing again, before I run out of chapters, haha! Anyways, thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed the chapter!


Recent Posts

See All

AOD Chapter 32: Official First Day

-Monday Morning, 21st Of the 1st Month, Year 910- After eating breakfast, we split up with Jasmine and go to our first class of the day, History. We walk into class and go to the back of the room to s

AOD Chapter 31: Lunchtime Incident

-Saturday Afternoon, 19th Of the 1st Month, Year 910- '...I never knew that listening to someone talk could be so tiring-' I sigh and sit my lunch down, '-And that was only half of the general rules,

AOD Chapter 30: Etiquette Class For Commoners!?

-Saturday Morning, 19th Of the 1st Month, Year 910- "Ry…." I hear a voice calling for me from the darkness, "Ryn…Ryner…" 'Hm? That sounds like No-' Before I can collect my thoughts, a loud shout hits

bottom of page